The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of The Center for Family Justice plays an important role in ensuring the organization is fiscally sound, well managed and provides quality services. The Board is composed of community members who live or work in one of the six towns The Center serves. The size of the Board can vary from 15 to 25. Board members are elected at the annual meeting, which takes place in April, and serve a three-year term. A Board member can serve up to three consecutive terms.

Board members are expected to serve on a least one committee of the Board, attend monthly Board meetings and contribute financially to the organization. Generally, Board members are recruited based on their previous experience volunteering for The Center, their experience on other Boards and the expertise they can provide. Board expertise is needed in the areas of fundraising, business management, finance, technology, human resources, strategic planning, public relations and advocacy.

2016-2017 Board of Directors


  • Ann E. Clark, PhD, Member At Large
  • Donna Craft
  • Fentyshia Daniels
  • Jill Fitzburgh
  • Valerie Foster, Vice Chair
  • Jessa Francis
  • Catherine Gallagher
  • Thomas A. Gallo
  • Maurice Hill
  • Anthony Iannini
  • Karen Izzo
  • Patricia Johnson
  • Rachel Volkman Kushel, Esq.
  • Robert Larson, Treasurer
  • Nancy Lessard
  • Kathryn Maiolo, Secretary
  • Joseph Marrone, Member At Large
  • Donna Milne
  • Trevor Mullineaux
  • Janet Navon
  • Matthew C. Reale, Esq.
  • Judy Ann Stevens, Esq., Chair
  • Veronica F. Thomas
  • Lisa M. Todd
  • Carly J. Yearsley

Debra A. Greenwood, President/CEO of The Center for Family Justice


Executive Committee: Comprised of all officers of the Board and one member at large. This is the primary management team of the Board and responsible for strategic planning.

Investment Committee: Recommends investment policy for The Center, monitors the investment activity and acts as liaison with investment managers. It also devises strategies with Development for endowment campaign efforts and capital expenditures.

Development Committee: Coordinates planning and implementation of all current fundraising events including the annual appeal and third-party fundraising events. It also works with the Development staff to create a strategic plan, support planned giving campaigns and capital campaigns.

Human Resources Committee: Develops policies and procedures for all human resource issues, consults on personnel and salary issues, and conducts periodic reviews of benefits and compensation plans.

Finance Committee: Monitors operating budget and financial performance of The Center and assists in the fiscal management of The Center. In addition, the committee prepares and presents the annual operating budget, supports The Center’s president/CEO on fiscal matters, and provides consultation when needed.

Program Review Committee: Conducts quarterly review of programs for compliance, effectiveness and client satisfaction.

Facilities Committee: The Facility Committee is advisory on all matters pertaining to major renovations, proposed new satellite offices, site selection, landscape initiatives, environmental issues and safety/security issues. All major projects are submitted for approval or disapproval to The Center’s
Board of Directors.

Public Relations/Marketing Committee: Builds awareness of The Center’s brand, services and educational programs and events, including communications with the press; works closely with the events and development committees and the community education/outreach department to promote their work; and oversees the copy on the Website.